One World — One Ball

IFF Events

Find IFF on:

Men´s WFC 2018 Qualification Match Schedules – 12.10.2017




The match schedules for the qualification events for the 12th IFF Men´s World Floorball Championships have been released.

6 qualification groups, with a total of 31 teams, will compete for the 15 open spots in the WFC final round. Only host country, Czech Republic, receives direct qualification.  Tournaments will be held in Europe, Asia Oceania, and the Americas.

In Europe, there will be four qualification groups with three event locations - Tallinn (Estonia), Nitra (Slovakia) and Valmiera (Latvia).

The Asia-Oceania qualification will be held in Jeju Island, South Korea. This will be the first IFF event that Korea has hosted. 

USA & Canada will play in the Americas qualification in Ottawa, Canada.  The match schedule for this event is still be confirmed.

You can follow links to each of the event pages below, where you will find the match schedules.






31.01 - 4.02.2018
Tallinn, Estonia


30.01 - 3.02.2018
Valmiera, Latvia

Finland (1)*Switzerland (3)
Estonia (9)Latvia (7)
Poland (14)Russia (15)
Belgium (25)Italy (21)
Netherlands (27)Hungary (30)
 Liechtenstein (33)Iceland (32)






31.01 - 4.02.2018
Nitra, Slovakia


31.01 - 4.02.2018
Nitra, Slovakia

Sweden (2)Denmark (5)
Germany (8)Norway (6)
Slovakia (10)Spain (19)
Slovenia (24)Austria (20)
France (28)Great Britain (31)






22 - 27.01.2018
Jeju Island, South Korea

  Group A   Group B
Australia (13) Japan (16)
Republic of Korea (18) Singapore (17) 
Thailand (22) New Zealand (26)
China (-) Malaysia (29)
Islamic Republic of Iran (-)   



2 - 4.02.2018

Ottawa, Canada

USA (11)
Canada (12)

*Numbers in brackets show the current ranking based on the results from the last two WFC events. Countries with no ranking are participating in their first WFC and will receive a ranking after the event.

^Czech Republic being the organiser is directly qualified.


Qualification System

In Europe, each team will play once against each of the other teams in their group. Based on the results from these group matches, a total of 10 teams will qualify according to the following:
- The two best teams from each qualification group will qualify; and
- The the two best 3rd placed teams will qualify.
The calculation of the best 3rd teams will follow this order: 1. Average number of points 2. Average goal difference 3. Average scored goals 4. Lottery drawing*

*Since the number of teams between the qualification groups differs, the group sizes will be equalised by removing the results from the matches against the lowest placed teams in the larger-sized group before comparing the average results.


In AOFC, the teams are divided into two groups and the teams will play once against each of the other teams in their group. Based on the results from these group matches the teams will progress to the play-off rounds, as follows and four teams will qualify:

- 1st in Group A & Group B progress to the final and qualify directly to the WFC Final round
- 2nd in each group play a quarter final against the 3rd placed team from the other group. The winners of this progress to the 3rd placed match and both qualify directly to the WFC Final round
- The remaining matches will decide placings for 5th-9th

In Americas, the teams will play each other twice and based on the results of these matches, one team will qualify.


The last Men´s WFC was held in December 2016 in Latvia, with Finland defeating Sweden on penalty shots to win their 3rd world title. Full results can be found here