IFF Events

Find IFF on:

Men´s WFC 2016 Qualification groups decided – 26.08.2015

The groups for the 2016 Men´s World Floorball Championships qualifications have been decided. There will be a total of 6 groups - four in Europe and one each in Asia-Oceania and the Americas.

Photo: Miina Anahita (WFC 2014)

The organisers of the European qualifications will be Slovakia (Nitra), Estonia (Tallinn), Poland (Lochow) and Slovenia (Skofja Loka), while in Americas the event will be held in USA (Denver, Colorado). In Asia-Oceania, the organising country is still to be confirmed, however, it is possible that Thailand will host the qualification as well as compete for the first time. This will also be Estonia´s first time as event organiser, something which has come about partly through their Each One Teach One (EOTO) co-operation with the Finnish Floorball Federation.

All teams, apart from the host country (Latvia), will have to qualify for the Final Round via the qualifications. Thailand will not be the only debutant, Iceland will also be making their WFC debut, although they are scheduled to play their first international matches in the Red, White & Blue Games against Serbia and USA in September 2015. International floorball will also welcome back Georgia who will be competing for the first time since 2010 when they last played in the WFC qualifications.

The qualification groups are composed according to ranking as follows :

 EUR1 - Slovakia



EUR2 - Estonia



EUR3 - Poland



EUR4 - Slovenia










 Skofja Loka

  03-07.02.2016    03-07.02.2016   03-07.02.2016   02-06.02.2016


Sweden (1)*  

Finland (2)


Switzerland (3)


Czech Republic (4) 


Slovakia (9)  

Estonia (8)


Germany (7)


Norway (6)


Russia (11)  

Denmark (12) 


Poland (14)


Serbia (20) 


Belgium (24)  

Austria (23)


Spain (22)


Italy (21) 

France (25)  

Netherlands (28)


Great Britain (29) 


Slovenia (27) 

Iceland (-)




Georgia (38)


Liechtenstein (30)

Americas - USA  


Colorado Springs


(to be confirmed)

(prelim. dates)
(prelim. dates)

 USA (10)


Japan (15)

 Canada (13)


Australia (16)

 Jamaica (32)


Korea (17)




Singapore (18)




New Zealand (26)

    Malaysia (33)




Thailand (-)


* Numbers in brackets show the current ranking based on the results from the last two WFC events or other IFF events if there has been no WFC participation. Countries with no ranking number are participating in their first IFF event and will receive a ranking after the WFC.

From Americas the top 2 teams will qualify.

From AOFC the top 3 teams will qualify.

From Europe, a total of 10 teams will qualify according to the following:

- The two best teams from each qualification group will qualify; and

- The the two best 3rd placed teams from all the EUR groups will qualify

The calculation of the best 3rd placed teams will follow this order: 1. Average number of points 2. Average goal difference 3. Average scored goals 4. Lottery drawing *

*Since the number of teams between the qualification groups differ, the group sizes will be equalised by removing the results from the matches against the lowest placed teams in the larger-sized group before comparing the average results.

Photo: Rasmus Tynander (WFC 2014)