IFF Events

Find IFF on:

Teams in the Finnish Superfinals – 20.04.2017

The Finnish Superfinals will be played this Saturday at Hartwall Arena in Helsinki. The Women’s final starts at 13:00 and the Men’s final at 16:45.

Men´s Superfinal
Classic were the first to secure their spot in the Superfinal. The reigning champions were able to win against Happee four times in a row (9-6, 8-2, 9-7, 6-4). SPV and the merger club EräViikingit were battling for the last place in the final. The finalist was settled in the decisive seventh match which went to overtime. EräViikingit scored the winning goal two minutes into the overtime and will play against Classic on Saturday (9-5, 11-4, 5-7, 9-0, 6-8, 6-5 ot.).

Classic – EräViikingit

EräViikingit is the merger team of Tapanilan Erä and Viikingit. The team has a strong roster and were one of the favourites to become champions since the beginning of the season. Classic won their first Men’s championship title last season with their strong performance in the Superfinal. When the two teams met during the regular season, Classic were stronger both times. They won the first match 5-2 and the second 9-5. In the tight Finnish Cup final EräViikingit won against Classic 5-4.

Women´s Superfinal
Classic continued their winning streak in the Women’s and defeated PSS rather easily in the semi-finals (6-1, 6-3, 6-1). The matches between SB-Pro and SSRA were more even, but still SB-Pro were able to make their way to the Superfinal with three wins in a row (5-3, 5-4, 7-3).

Classic – SB-Pro

Classic lost the tight Superfinal last season to NST and won the silver medal. In the past nine seasons, Classic have been the champions seven times. This season the team has been unbeatable in the league and are a bit of a favourite when it comes to the championship title. Though the last time the finalists played against each other during the regular season the match was rather even. Classic won the match 5-4. The first match of the season SB-Pro lost with numbers 6-12. SB-Pro’s latest championship title is from season 2013-14. 

Source: www.floorball.fi
Photos: Salibandyliiga Flickr