IFF Events

Find IFF on:

WFCQ 2016 EUR3: Day 1 – 03.02.2016

Switzerland and Poland took the first points in the World Floorball Championship Qualifications in Lochow, Poland.

Five countries are battling for the tickets to Latvia in WFCQ EUR 3. Great Britain had a day off as the other four teams were competing for the points. Switzerland played against Germany and Spain faced the home team Poland.

The first match of the tournament was SUI-GER. Switzerland was the clear favourite due to their high ranking, though Germany isn’t far behind. After less than 7 minutes, Switzerland’s Matthias Hofbauer put the ball behind Germany’s Mike Dietz. By the end of the first period Switzerland was leading Germany 3-0.
The second period was also dominated by the Swiss. At 37.28, Germany’s Ramon Ibold got a chance to score by a penalty shot, but Switzerland’s Pascal Meier blocked his try. Shortly after, Ibold succeeded in the power play and decreased the score to 6-1.
Germany made a beautiful shorthanded goal in the end of the third period, but Switzerland’s Jonas Ledergerber scored his third goal only a few minutes later. Germany stepped up their game in the third period, but it wasn’t enough against Switzerland. The Swiss won the game with the numbers 7-2.

Best players:
#3 Jonas Ledergerber (SUI)
#91 Mike Dietz (GER)

Spain and the home team Poland got a standing ovation as they entered the rink. Some fans did not sit for the entire game, but kept on cheering while standing. In the first period Poland answered to the fans’ roars by scoring three goals.
Spain improved their game in the second period, but weren’t able to score. Maciej Bogdanski was efficient in guarding team Poland’s goal. Despite Spain’s effort, Poland’s Mateusz Antoniak scored his second goal at the end of the second period.
The crowd’s favourite player in the third period was Wojciech Malajka who scored two goals for team Poland in three minutes. Again Spain had good scoring chances but weren’t able to shoot the ball in the net. Poland won the match 6-0.

Best players:
#23 Martinez Ortega Ivan (ESP)
#19 Skura Dawid (POL)

Photos: Marcin Chudzik