One World — One Ball

IFF Events

Find IFF on:

New systems for the future IFF events – 06.01.2007

The International Floorball Federation Central Board held its meeting during the European Cup Final Round in Sweden. During the meeting the CB discussed and decided upon new systems for future IFF events.

EuroFloorball Cup Qualification system starting from 2007/2008:

The EFC will be played for both men and women with two regional qualification tournaments and one qualification tournament for the 2nd best teams (or National Cup winners) from the top 4 nations, but only two teams can participate from the same country. The Final round will be played with 8 teams, as was decided by the CB in January 2006.

The qualification tournaments for men and women will be organized together, in the same country/city, but not necessarily in the same sports hall. The qualification tournament has to be organized by one of the participating countries. The organizers should be chosen latest 30th of April.

Qualification tournaments for national champions

Two regional tournaments will be organized and the teams are divided according to geographical concerns. The winner of each tournament will qualify for the final round (both men and women).

The regional Qualification tournaments in 2007 will be organized in Italy and Norway.

2010 Men’s Floorball World Championships

The CB decided that the Men’s WFC 2010 will be played with 16 teams in four groups of four teams with the top seven teams from the A-division and the winner of B-division of the WFC 2008 automatically qualified to the Final round. The other countries will have to qualify separately for the WFC Final round.

This system will be valid for 2010 and 2011 after which the qualification system will be reviewed.